top of page
Bioxegy - Défintion Biomimétisme - Effet Lotus.jpg

Biomimicry:

Definition, issues, sectors and trends

What is biomimicry?

Officially, biomimicry is defined as technical imitation processes, compositions, forms or even interactions of different biological systems found in nature, from the biomolecular to the ecosystem scale. In essence, biomimicry relies on intelligence and the sobriety of biological principles for impactful design, sober and sustainable technologies.
 

More broadly, we can sometimes use the notion of bio-inspiration which encompasses all sciences inspired by living organisms in the design of new systems.
 

In Bioxegy, we use biomimicry as a R&D approach inspired by the ingenuity of the mechanisms, properties and functions of living things to innovate and shape efficient and sustainable technologies.

Biomimicry's promise

Biomimicry's pormise is to take advantage of the largest R&D laboratory: Nature. It offers us the most beautiful evidence: 3.8 billion years of innovation at your fingertips.
 

Living things have had time to find appropriate and diversified solutions to respond to a wide range of challenges, and ensure the survival of several tens of millions of different species, in constrained environments.
 

The result is a prodigious pool of ideas and sophisticated, optimised and sober approaches. An unprecedented opportunity to innovate and which is right before our eyes!

Bioxegy - Définition Biomimétisme - Caméléon.jpg

The powerful industrial and scientific growth of biomimicry

Bio-inspiration is not new, it is a research method that began to prove itself several decades ago! There are many very emblematic examples of biomimicrywe can cite the invention of velcro in the 1950s which is directly inspired by burdock seeds. But before that, Leonardo da Vinci did not wait for the formalisation of biomimicry to draw inspiration from nature for his inventions!


However, it was only from the 1990s that interest in bio-inspired innovation exploded both in industry and in research, mainly thanks to Janine Benyus which formalised biomimicry. This American scientist founded the Biomimicry Institute in the United States in 2006 to further promote biomimicry.

Today, biomimicry is the subject of real international scientific craze. Competition is intense in the corridors of the most prestigious universities and research centers in the world, which are developing ever more promising expertise. The Da Vinci Index was even created to measure global activity of biomimicry, whether in terms of research articles or commercial applications, largely dominated by China. The latest highlight to date: the CNRS has included biomimicry as part of its strategic priorities for 2023.

Biomimicry: definition

Biomimicry: areas and levers of application

The technological diversity of nature makes biomimicry a profoundly cross-disciplinary lever for innovation. From aeronautics to health, including construction, energy, IT and even luxury: biomimicry is an approach that can theoretically be applied to all sectors of activity.


A true toolbox, bio-inspiration makes it possible to respond to precise technological challenges (problem solving), to carry out prospective work and aim for 

breakthrough innovation (new product introduction) but also to improve existing technologies via incremental innovation (re-engineering).

A single philosophy: get inspired of the wisdom of biological systems to innovate more intelligently. And this wisdom applies to almost every industry, you can browse examples by clicking the button below!

Bioxegy - Définition Biomimétisme - Homme microscope.jpg

Biomimicry: strong international enthusiasm

Outside France, biomimicry is growing strongly. We can cite the example of NASA which set up the V.I.N.E network. to bring together researchers working in biomimicry by sharing analysis tools and initiating working groups. They even came up with a bio-inspired flying vehicle project to explore Venus' atmosphere!
 

Staying in the space field, it is not just the Americans who are banking on biomimicry. Indeed, the ESA, the European Space Agency, initiated the BIOINSPACED project which consists of developing bio-inspired solutions to deorbit space debris.
 

As you can see, the whole world is starting to turn towards nature to innovate, even in areas as complex as space. The promises and possibilities of biomimicry are so vast that we have only scratched the surface! This development is closely accompanied, biomimicry gives rise to research work standardisation by AFNOR (French Association for Standardisation) or the ISO (International Organisation for Standardisation) in order to provide a framework for this growth.

Bioxegy - Défintion Biomimétisme - Vehicule atmosphérique bio-inspiré.png

Bio-inspired atmospheric vehicle © Javid Bayandor

Biomimicry: a profession of the future

Engineers who work in biomimicry know how to understand the complexity of the world around us as a whole. Innovating with inspiration from nature means knowing how to break down the mechanisms of nature to better transpose them to human technologies!

At Bioxegy, our biomimetic engineers appeal to their wide range of skills ranging from mechanics to chemistry, including computer science, materials, and even biology. Everything is completed by an irreducible passion for how the world around them works and for innovation. This global understanding of societal issues and living organisms makes this profession one of the most complete in order to reconcile technical progress and sustainability, while drawing inspiration from the largest pool of adaptive mechanisms on the planet.
 

However, there are still no studies specifically focused on biomimicry in France. Our engineers therefore come from different backgrounds and use their respective skills to make biomimicry an increasingly democratised R&D method!

Bioxegy - définition - ingénieur biomiméticien.HEIC

Biomimicry: decipher and draw inspiration from living things

Nature is infinitely complex and orchestrates the lives of billions of organisms living in sophisticated and changing ecosystems.

The mechanisms of evolution have therefore endowed species with many functions and techniques to face their daily lives and meet their physiological needs. The most obvious: to feed oneself, to defend oneself or to protect oneself, to move around, to communicate, to understand one's environment, etc.


Nature therefore represents a sharp and varied know-how, materialised through the richness of our biodiversity: 1.8 million known species!


Below, a selection of issues addressed by the living : 

shutterstock_481010797_edited.jpg

Biomimicry & aerodynamics:
A commonplace

 

animal-biology-blur-414467_edited_edited

Biomimicry, detection and information processing: shaping the embedded systems of the future

animal-green-green-mamba-38268_edited_ed

Biomimicry & tribology:
a promising technological duo

 

Human_hip_bone_texture.jpg

Biomimicry, structures and materials: the winning bet of lightweight design
 

apis-mellifera-bee-beekeeping-56876_edit

Biomimicry & NVH: improving noise and vibration mitigation technologies

Scorpion_tunisia.jpg

Biomimicry to cope
with the elements (abrasion, erosion, oxidation)

 

The Incredible Nature:

icons8-microphone-100_edited.png

Discover the first French podcast on biomimicry!

Bioxegy is the French specialist in biomimicry. And if there's one thing our team loves to do, it's to share their passion for the ingenuity of living things.

So we decided to create a great podcast on biomimicry, the first of its kind!

Bio-inspired technologies, success stories, surprising anecdotes on certain species and meetings with researchers and entrepreneurs: discover the world of biomimicry!

Bioxegy Biomimétisme

TEDx Talks: Biomimicry and if nature inspired the innovations of the future?

To learn more about Biomimicry and discover impactful examples, discover the conference by Sidney Rostan, founder and CEO of Bioxegy, during TEDxSaclay 2022   

bottom of page

top of page
Bioxegy - Défintion Biomimétisme - Effet Lotus.jpg

Biomimétisme

Définition, enjeux, secteurs et tendances

Qu’est-ce que le biomimétisme ?

Officiellement le biomimétisme se définit comme l’imitation technique des processus, des compositions, des formes ou encore des interactions des différents systèmes biologiques que l’on trouve dans la nature, de l’échelle biomoléculaire à écosystémique. Par essence, le biomimétisme s'appuie sur l'intelligence et la sobriété des principes biologiques pour concevoir des technologies impactantes, sobres et durables.
 

Plus largement, on peut parfois utiliser la notion de bio-inspiration qui englobe toutes les sciences inspirées des organismes vivants dans la conception de systèmes nouveaux.
 

Chez Bioxegy, on utilise le biomimétisme comme une approche de R&D en s'inspirant de l'ingéniosité des mécanismes, propriétés et fonctions du vivant pour innover et façonner des technologies performantes et durables.

Bioxegy - Définition - Abeille.webp
Bioxegy - Définition - Pissenlit.jpg

La promesse du biomimétisme

La promesse du biomimétisme, c'est de tirer parti du plus vaste des laboratoires de R&D : la Nature. Elle nous offre la plus belle des évidences : 3,8 milliards d'années d'innovation à porter de main.
 

Le vivant a eu le temps de trouver des solutions appropriées et diversifiées pour répondre à une large gamme de défis, et assurer la survie de plusieurs dizaines de millions d'espèces différentes, dans des environnements sous contrainte.
 

En résulte un prodigieux vivier d'idées et d'approches sophistiquées, optimisées et sobres. Une opportunité inédite pour innover et qui se trouve juste devant nos yeux !

Le puissant essor industriel et scientifique du biomimétisme

La bio-inspiration ne date pas d’hier, c’est une méthode de recherche qui a commencé à faire ses preuves il y a déjà plusieurs décennies ! Il y a plusieurs exemples très emblématiques du biomimétisme, on peut citer l’invention du velcro dans les années 1950 qui s’inspire directement des graines de bardanes. Mais avant ça, Léonard de Vinci n’a pas attendu la formalisation du biomimétisme pour s’inspirer de la nature pour ses inventions !


Toutefois ce n’est qu’à partir des années 1990 que l’intérêt pour l’innovation bio-inspirée explose à la fois dans l’industrie et dans la recherche, principalement grâce à Janine Benyus qui formalisa le biomimétisme. Cette scientifique américaine a fondé le Biomimicry Institute aux États-Unis en 2006 permettant de promouvoir davantage le biomimétisme.

Aujourd'hui, le biomimétisme fait l'objet d'un véritable engouement scientifique international. La compétition est intense dans les couloirs des universités et centres de recherches les plus prestigieux au monde, qui développent des expertises toujours plus prometteuses. Le Da Vinci Index a même été créé pour mesurer l’activité mondiale dans le biomimétisme, que ce soit en terme d’articles de recherche ou d’applications commerciales, largement dominée par la Chine. Dernier fait marquant en date : le CNRS a inscrit le biomimétisme comme faisant partie de ses priorités stratégiques à l'horizon 2023.

Biomimétisme :
domaines et leviers d’application

La diversité technologique de la nature fait du biomimétisme un levier d'innovation profondément transversal. De l'aéronautique à la santé, en passant par la construction, l'énergie, l'informatique ou encore le luxe : le biomimétisme est une démarche qui peut théoriquement s'appliquer à tous les secteurs d'activités.


Véritable boîte à outils, la bio-inspiration permet à la fois de répondre à des verrous technologiques précis (problem solving), de réaliser un travail prospectif et viser de l'innovation de rupture
(new product introduction) mais aussi d’améliorer des technologies existantes via
l’
innovation incrémentale (re-engineering).

Une seule philosophie : s'inspirer de la sagesse des systèmes biologiques pour innover de façon plus intelligente. Et cette sagesse s’applique à quasiment tous les secteurs industriels, vous pouvez parcourir des exemples en cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous !

Biomimétisme : un engouement international fort

En dehors de l’hexagone, le biomimétisme se développe fortement. On peut citer l’exemple de la NASA qui a mis sur pied le réseau V.I.N.E. pour faire converger les chercheurs qui travaillent dans le biomimétisme en partageant des outils d’analyse et en initiant des groupes de travail. Il en est même ressorti un projet de véhicule volant à propulsion bio-inspirée pour explorer l’atmosphère de Vénus !
 

En restant dans le domaine du spatial, il n’y a pas que les américains qui misent sur le biomimétisme. En effet l’ESA, l’agence spatiale européenne, ont initié le projet BIOINSPACED qui consiste à développer des solutions bio-inspirées pour désorbiter les débris spatiaux.
 

Comme vous pouvez le voir, le monde entier commence à se tourner vers la nature pour innover, même dans des domaines aussi complexes que le spatial. Les promesses et possibilités du biomimétisme sont si vastes que nous n’en avons encore qu’effleuré la surface ! Ce développement est accompagné de près, le biomimétisme donne lieu à des travaux de normalisation par l’AFNOR (Association Française de Normalisation) ou encore l’ISO (Organisation Internationale de Normalisation) afin de donner un cadre à cette croissance.

Bioxegy - Définition - Véhicules spatiaux.webp

Véhicule atmosphérique bio-inspiré © Javid Bayandor

Biomimétisme : un métier d’avenir

Les ingénieurs qui travaillent dans le biomimétisme savent appréhender la complexité du monde qui nous entoure dans son ensemble. Innover en s’inspirant de la nature implique de savoir décomposer les mécanismes du vivant pour mieux les transposer aux technologies humaines !
 

Chez Bioxegy, nos ingénieurs biomiméticiens font appel à leur large panel de compétences allant de la mécanique à la chimie, en passant par l’informatique, les matériaux, ou encore la biologie. Le tout est complété par une irréductible passion pour le fonctionnement du monde qui les entoure et pour l’innovation. Cette appréhension globale des enjeux sociétaux et des organismes vivants font de ce métier l’un des plus complets afin de concilier progrès technique et durabilité, tout en s’inspirant du plus grand vivier de mécanismes adaptatifs de la planète.
 

Toutefois, il n’existe toujours pas d’études spécifiquement tournées vers le biomimétisme en France. Nos ingénieurs proviennent donc de différents horizons et mettent à profit leurs compétences respectives pour faire du biomimétisme une méthode de R&D de plus en plus démocratisée !

Biomimétisme : décrypter et s’inspirer du vivant

La nature est infiniment complexe et orchestre la vie de milliards d'organismes vivants dans des écosystèmes perfectionnés et en constante évolution, et ce bien avant que les premiers hommes ne foulent notre planète.

Les mécanismes de l'évolution ont doté les espèces de très nombreuses fonctions et techniques pour faire face à leur quotidien et répondre à leurs besoins. Les plus évidents : se nourrir, se défendre ou se protéger, se déplacer, communiquer, appréhender son environnement, etc.

La nature représente donc un savoir-faire pointu et varié, matérialisé au travers de la richesse de notre biodiversité : 1,8 millions d'espèces connues à ce jour ! Cela fait au moins autant de mécanismes d’adaptation desquels nous pouvons nous inspirer pour résoudre les problématiques humaines, souvent très similaires à celles que rencontrent le vivant.

Bioxegy Biomimétisme

TEDx Talks : Biomimétisme et si la nature inspirait les innovations du futur ?

Pour en savoir plus sur le Biomimétisme et découvrir des exemples percutant, découvrez la conférence de Sidney Rostan, fondateur et CEO de Bioxegy, lors du TEDxSaclay 2022   

L'incroyable Nature :

icons8-microphone-100_edited.png

Découvrez le premier podcast français sur le biomimétisme !

Bioxegy est le spécialiste français du biomimétisme. Et s'il y a bien une chose que notre équipe aime faire, c'est de partager sa passion pour l'ingéniosité du vivant.

Technologies bio-inspirées, success stories, anecdotes surprenantes sur certaines espèces et rencontres avec des chercheurs et entrepreneurs : partez à la découverte de l'univers du biomimétisme ! 

bottom of page